#Joplin: The Social Media Effect

Female lab at the Joplin Humane Society Animal Adoption & Resource Center via Lost & Found Tornado Pets 2011.
It’s breaking my heart to watch the headlines, ireports and tweets as the full impact of the Joplin tornado unfolds.

I followed the impact social media had on the coverage and response to the earthquake and tsunami in Japan in March and the tornado outbreak that ravaged the town of Tuscaloosa in April, but I sit here amazed at the social media response to Joplin. Maybe it hits home for me because I lived and worked in the KC area for many years. Maybe it’s because the first tweets I saw were from a colleague in Pittsburg, KS. All I know is that I’m touched and inspired by what I’m watching.

Update: New York Times reporter Brian Stelter has posted a thoughtful and compelling account of how he used Twitter to report on the aftermath of the recent tornado in Joplin, Missouri.

Leave a Reply

