A Shrine (and a Rant)

RIP Steve Jobs

It just so happens that my office is the coolest AND we happen to have an old Macintosh Classic. We created a shrine with everything Apple we could get our hands on (along with a stuffed bear, candy and incense). As usual, we went a bit overboard.

I uploaded one of the pix to Facebook yesterday and got a quick introduction on the new feature that allows “friends of friends” to comment on photos they are tagged in. Some guy wrote a snarky comment about the microsoft keyboard. I don’t know why it irked me so much, but I deleted it. Yeah, I guess if you’re a purist, it’s out of place. But we put a cross up and Jobs was a Buddhist.

I really think Steve would enjoy the diversity. After all, I think his success had a lot to do with his “multilingual” approach to Apple products in the last 10 years or so. They quit battling it out with Microsoft over personal computing. They made all of the “i” devices agnostic so they appealed to anyone who liked music, needed a phone or wanted an awesome tablet experience. Of course they are still in the computing business, but they succeed by making excellent products … not just keeping up with “competitors.” When Steve Jobs talked, he was a rock star, everyone listened. Bill Gates still has fans, but honestly, he is known more for his philanthropy than anything else.

I admit, I like to give my Mac friends a hard time, but I’m a PC mostly because I know too many Windows shortcuts to change now.

So my wish and prayer at the shrine: “Can’t we all just get along?”

RIP Steve Jobs, 1955-2011.

Steve Jobs OCM Shrine

One thought on “A Shrine (and a Rant)

Leave a Reply

